13. Dig Faster

I never noticed in myself the things that made me bipolar.  I thought I was depressed, then at times not depressed.  My “not depressed” times were categorized by binge drinking, never sleeping, making sure absolutely everyone absolutely knew how supremely awesome and powerful I was, a constant awareness that everyone was out to get me, and apparently I also talk very fast.

 I thought all of that was fine and dandy.  Even after I was diagnosed as bipolar, I figured sometimes I was just all better.  And those better times were categorized by the behavior above.  I mean of COURSE I was irritated.  People are stupid, right?

One day, Martha explained to me DIGFAST.

DIGFAST

Distractibility

Insomnia

Grandiosity

Flight of ideas

Activity

Speech

Thoughtlessness
Euphoria with any three of these, or irritability with any four, and it’s a good time to talk to a mental health professional.
And it was all clearer then. 

Leave a Reply

