15. Peaceful Warrior

I hate exercise.  Hate it.

Not because I’m not good at it, but because I’m not good enough at it.

I am incredibly competitive, and if I can’t win, I honestly just don’t want to play.  When you see me on the elliptical machine, you will notice that I am the one glancing furtively at my fellow-exerciser’s monitor to see if they are going faster, or on a harder level of resistance.  Generally, they are, because as I hate exercise, I don’t do it often enough to compete with my gym colleagues.

But I need to get back to it.

A healthy diet and a good regimen of exercise is good for more than your body, it is good for your mind.  I’m sure there is a science behind it that would tell you exactly why, but I know for me, when I am getting in a bit of exercise every day and eating well, I feel proactive in making my life a better one.

It is essential to be proactive when dealing with mental illness.  If you take no path to fix it, it’s pretty damn easy to sink into levels you didn’t even know possible.

So Monday, I will call and set up my physical therapy.  I will not regress because of my injury.  I will take proactive steps to be the person I wish to be.

If you want to be my workout buddy, hollah.

Leave a Reply

