23. Something lost along the way.

I remembered something, while I am sitting outside being eaten alive by mosquitoes more powerful than Deep Woods Off:
There are things about me now that weren’t true when I was a child.

Duh, of course. I’m significantly taller and heavier, I can speak well, write okay, and drive a car. If I wanted to, I’m sure I could quite easily hold down a job. I doubt my four year old son could say the same.

I lost some things else, though, that I think it is within my power to get back.

1. Wonderment at everything.

2. A complete lack of self-consciousness.

3. A knowledge of the names of every single Fraggle, and all their songs.

I would love to expand more upong these later, but I think that their value is obvious.

Leave a Reply

